You have more control over your Facebook account than you know and the social network wants to remind you of this fact. Facebook’s new Safety Center can now be accessed on your mobile and in Tagalog, if you prefer.


The hub houses step-by-step videos and downloadable content on how to control over your account, who gets to see what you share, what you should and shouldn’t share, and how people can get in touch with you. It also reminds you of the Community Standards Facebook adheres to in order for it to be a safe and welcoming space for its users. It might not seem like such a safe place for you now but being able to turn it into one is in your hands.

Here are some of the tips Facebook APAC’s Director of Safety Mia Garlick shared with us:

Using Activity Log, people can change the audience for anything you’ve shared on Facebook, see everything you’ve been tagged in, and delete anything that is no longer wanted. People can block anyone they don’t want to interact with. Facebook’s Privacy and Security Checkups walks people through a few quick steps to help ensure that only selected people can see posts and to help people enhance account security.


People can also enable login approvals, which means entering a code along with your password when logging in from a device or browser for the first time.


Facebook prides itself in being the only company to use the built-in strength of friend connections to enhance security. For example, people can pick a few trusted friends to help them get back into their account if they ever lose access for some reason—if that happens, Facebook will send each of them a short code that they can use to get back in control of their friend’s account.


Ad preferences are available for every ad on Facebook—people can just click “Why am I seeing this ad?” It explains why that person is seeing particular ads and lets them remove or add interests that Facebook uses to show people ads.


Facebook also offers people the option of establishing a legacy contact—a family member or friend who can manage their account when they pass away. Once someone lets Facebook know that a person has passed away, we will memorialize the account and the legacy contact will be able to write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline; respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook; update the profile picture and cover photo.